Jughead & I

PicCollage
I love comic books.   When I was a kid (a long time ago),  a great weekend meant…a quiet room, a bologna sandwich on white Wonder Bread and a comic book.   I’m going to admit a couple of things to you.   I had a crush on dopey black-haired Jughead, I wanted to be friends with Richie Rich, and I thought Lil Lulu was kinda cool…oh, and I definitely wanted powers like the Invisible Woman.  Unfortunately, Jughead never called, Richie played with his cousin Reggie and Lulu only wanted to hang out with Tubby.   However, and (oddly enough), I DID become the Invisible Woman!   Imagine that…out of all the characters that filled my weekends…I got to be the ONE with superpowers!   Wow, not too shabby, huh?   I mean the power of invisibility, come on, that’s pretty darn cool, right?  After all, with THAT power, I could sneak up on ANYBODY even the President of the United States, although I don’t know how much fun that would be, seriously.   But, don’t be jealous though, because I’m only invisible when it comes to my chronic illness.

I appear to be happy and healthy.
So no one sees me.
I don’t show any signs of illness unless you see the small bump that my medi-port makes under my skin.
I look too well.
Sometimes, I wish I could go back to the days when life was simple…and I was visible.
Digestive disorders are often undiagnosed and can’t be seen.
Trust me; we that have invisible illnesses don’t want to be super heroes.
Seriously, we don’t want to sneak up on people.
Or spy on the President
Or even save the world
Sometimes, we just want to be ourselves…
And just be seen
And, you know something?
The more I think about that…that’s pretty-

Darn powerful enough.

 

Got something to say? :)

