Jenny, I know YOUR number…BUT I don’t know MINE!

Ok…so if remember the song “867-5309” by Tommy Tutone, you’ll understand this blog post. It also means…you’re old. I’m totally kidding. Anyway, for all you young whippersnappers out there, it was some lame ass song (sorry Tommy) that came out in 1982 and basically repeated some chick’s phone number (her name was Jenny) over and over…and over again. Now as much as I dislike that song, I realized that it was released into the Earth’s atmosphere for a purpose, to serve the people of 2012. So, that it could help them…to guide them…help them remember their mama’s phone number!

Case in point.

The year is 1982…somewhere in Ohio

Me: My mom needs your phone number, so I can go to your house for the sleepover.

Best Friend: We are going to talk about boys

Me: My mom needs your phone number, so I can go to your house for the sleepover. Really?

Best Friend: Yes. And freeze the bra of the person that falls asleep the first.

Me : Okay, but my mom needs your phone number, so I can go to your house for the sleepover. Really?

Best Friend: Yes. It’s 786-4308

I remember the number because I sing it in my head like Tommy Tutone. I go to the party and freeze Becky Y’s bra. Oh, and dip Pam C.’s hand in warm water so she will pee in her sleeping bag. Oops. The point is I remembered the number because I sang it in my head (thanks Tommy.)

Now…

The year is 2012…somewhere in Virginia

Best Friend: I need my cell phone number quickly….signing papers, what is it?

Me: Silence (you can hear crickets)

Best Friend: Seriously, Kat, I need it, like, now!

Me: Um, I don’t know it. I usually just press your name

Best Friend: So, you really don’t know it?

Me: No…wait, don’t you know it?

Best Friend: Um…No.

Me: Wait, you don’t know your OWN cell phone number?

Best Friend: No. Well, I NEVER call myself!

Now back to Tommy. You had a really good concept there and the best part is it works! For those who can’t remember numbers or decided to make writing in an address book a thing of the past, all you gotta do is sing that crap to remember it. You might look stupid singing a number out in public, but at least you will know your mama’s cell phone number…

By the way…it 907-324…just kidding…Mom!

Got something to say? :)

