Mr Venti meet Mr Trenta

 

 

The anticipation was killing me. I wiped away the little droplet of sweat that had fallen from my brow onto my cheek, and inserted the key. I turned slowly and heard the soft click.
Why did I suddenly feel so nervous?
Why did I already know in my heart that if I didn’t see it, I would be slightly crushed?
Why does my neighbor wash his car EVERY morning, yet never leaves his house?
Anyway. I take a deep breath, open the mailbox and peer inside. It was there! I squealed with delight as I retrieved my new glossy black & gold “anything drink…any size” free Sweet 15 Starbucks gift certificate. It’s a lil perk that you get after you buy earn 15 stars through the Rewards Program. And if you get 15 more…you can become a Gold card member…ahem, which I happen to be…and yes, I slightly brag about it that to my friends because it will the only gold card that my wallet will EVER see…according to those fine people over at free credit report.com. Anyway, I tried my best to not skip like a schoolgirl as I headed back toward the house.
I didn’t really care, because I got a free drink, yo and the best Baristas in town.
I know some people who love Starbucks.
Best coffee on Earth!
Great atmosphere!
Free WI-Fi!
I know some people who hate Starbucks.
Awful coffee!
Monopolizing!
It’s too pretentious to order a “Grande!”
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and that’s cool because I got a free drink and the nicest Baristas in town.
I was so excited that night, I could barely sleep. The next morning I woke up at 4 a.m. so I could be at Starbucks when the doors opened at 5:30 a.m. Sharp. I’m totally kidding. I really woke up at like 9:15 a.m. and shuffled in there around 2:45 p.m. It might be a free drink, but I ain’t that dumb. I stood patiently in line, looking over the drink menu. It’s funny, I order the same two things almost everyday, yet when I am presented with get an “anything drink free” card, I get nervous. I want to make sure I get the most out of my certificate. Something different. Not my usual. But yet, I don’t. Or do I? No. Due to my digestive disorder, I rarely deviate from my regular diet, but that day I did. I went from a 20 ounce black tea (with 8 pumps of Classic) to a 31 ounce black tea (with 8 pumps of Classic.) Rebel. Yup.
Mr. Venti meet Mr. Trenta
Mr. Trenta…Mr. Venta
Yup.
Rebel.

 

2 thoughts on “Mr Venti meet Mr Trenta

Got something to say? :)

