The Gym Shoes & Me

Today I ran
Not for first place
Or a time
But Solely
For Me
I felt the wind on my face
And
My heartbeat in my ears
Sweet & Pleasant
Endorphins
Kicked in
And for a moment, I could have closed my eyes
And run without fear
The course already etched into my mind
From so many runs before
I ran on auto-pilot
My legs tight until
My body remembered the familiar course
And I relaxed
Today
I ran out of instinct
I ran for joy
I ran for peace
I simply ran
For me.

Got something to say? :)

