What My Chronic Illness Took Away

My chronic illness took away
The ability to eat Devil’s Food Cake
But it gave me Priorities
A chance to see what matters most in my life

My chronic illness took away
The ability to run the distances that I once did
But it taught me to be grateful for what I have
And to be appreciative of what I can do

My chronic illness took away
The ability to have total control over my life
But it taught me to look within
And to be honest and real with myself

My chronic illness took away
The ability to just “hang out” and accept the norm
But it taught me to use my time wisely
And that every moment does count

My chronic illness took away
The ability to just look into the mirror
But it taught me not to judge
A person’s outside, but their character too.

My chronic illness took away
The ability to know where I’m gonna be in 10 years
But it taught me to fight
And to never ever…ever give up

2 thoughts on “What My Chronic Illness Took Away

  1. You rock! You’re amazing!!
    I read so much shit out here….Yass, I feel okay with saying that word to you, of all the lousy luck…

    And Ho! Do I know with my own version, but it is “colon light” to be sure but even though and rest assured, I am now a fan of your writing and your journey…

    So glad to have found you…

    Peace

Got something to say? :)

