Insomnia and Me

I try to close my eyes
But they’re so restless
And can’t stay shut
They are burning
But remain open
It’s so quiet and
I can hear my heart beating
In my chest
It’s so loud
Poe’s Tell Tale Heart has nothing on me
Sleep doesn’t come
So I stare at the wall
My mind racing with words and images
Thoughts so profound
I feel like a freakin genius
Surely, I have created a cure for some disease
Or a way to have world peace
I breathe deeply
And wait for the shadows to descend on me
For my eyelids to grow so heavy
That they can’t resist
And then I will sleep
Finally

Got something to say? :)

