Ur Purpose MAY B @ Wal-Mart!

This is not really about Wal-Mart, or Wally World, as I like to call it…even though I could go there…EVERYDAY!  Seriously, this blog is about…seeing you in others (please see my blog…and you WILL totally love it, yep yup! https://mycrazycolon.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/the-ugly-side-of-my-chronic-disease/)  Today, I was at Wal-Mart (on Black Friday, no less), getting my makeup cleansers (Pond’s…by the way, pretty awesome, ya’ll) when a person behind me showed me her big ole case of Pepsi.  I smiled, because that’s what I do…I’m pretty nice…but then I dug a lil deeper…I said, “So, you must like Pepsi, huh?”  I looked at her.  Our eyes met.  We knew.  For two reasons.  First, because we were in line for like 2 hours with only one item…and second because we both knew,  she needed to say something.  I looked at her and let her say what was on her mind.  I knew it was for me…and only for me.  She sighed and said…”You know, two years ago, a case of Pabst Blue Ribbon would have been my “start” but now I’m sober”.   I realized she needed to tell me, in that moment to make herself accountable, to make her strong…so she wouldn’t leave the line and go to the beer aisle and wake up tomorrow and say…”Damn it, I gotta start over”.  So, I smiled at her and said…”Wow, that’s awesome…and pretty freakin cool…you, stay strong, ok?  One day at a time, right?”  She smiled…a smile that showed uncertainty…but it also said, I will try my hardest.  What I said was for her and not for me, because I knew I was cool and in control.  I just wanted to give her just a little extra reassurance so that she knew her decisions were solid.  I told her, “Happy Holidays”. And then I left the store, not looking behind me…because truthfully, I didn’t want to really know.  Did she check out with just her Pepsi or she did she leave the line to chase her demon?  I went to my truck and started the engine, smiling because in my mind, she had made the right choice and bought the Pepsi…and no one was gonna make me change my mind.  Nope.  No One.  So, I shifted into reverse and I drove home…listening to my music and in peace.

Got something to say? :)

