Me Vs The Hunger

Tug-o-War
A game
Based on…
Who’s stronger?
Who’s more determined?
Who will hang on the longest?
Despite the pain
Despite the blisters
Despite the calluses
That
Burst and Bleed
Tug-o-War
A game
I play
Everyday
Me
Against
The Hunger
Sometimes
I win
When
I have a firm grip
And
Hunger plays fair
But
On occasion
Hunger likes to play Dirty
Hunger likes to Cheat
By
Whispering
“That pizza is so good, have a bite”
Or
“There are fresh cookies in the pantry”
It’s when my eyes turn
Towards the pantry
That Hunger
Strikes
Smirks
Pulls me hard
And
I Fall
And
I Surrender
And
I Lose
When this happens
I’m not
Sad
Or
Mad
Or
Defeated
I’m humbled
Realizing
Life isn’t always fair
So
I accept the loss
For today
Knowing
Hunger & I
Will play again
Tomorrow
And this time
 I just
Might
Win
Got something to say? :)

