I Drool on my Droid…

I play Fruit Slice on my Droid all day…every day.  It’s kinda sad really.  I shouldn’t like a game THIS much…but I do…even more than Angry Birds, which I thought was the best game ever!  I love Fruit Slice because I can live vicariously through it.  The fruit looks so damn tasty…Drool. One of the hardest challenges I have had concerning my digestive issues is not being able to eat fruits and veggies in their natural form.  I drink low sugar fruit smoothies and V8 juice, but there’s nothing better than bursting the juicy skin of a crisp apple with your teeth or munching on crunchy carrots dipped in ranch dressing.  Actually, while I was playing Fruit Slice one day, it got me thinking about the things that have happened to me over the last few years.  Poet Lord Tennyson once said, ‘Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.  I believe that quote is true…when it’s referring to people, but I’m not so sure it holds true for other things.  Would it have been better to love the taste of warm buttery bread and never have it again or better to not have tasted it at all?  I sometimes think if I had Gastroparesis as a child, then things would be easier for me because I wouldn’t miss what I never had…but then I remember how hard it can be for a child to see and want things, only to be told “No.”  I suppose there’s no right or wrong answer because it’s probably a combination of both.  I had a lot of mixed feelings after my stomach surgery.  I realized that being diagnosed at thirty-six made me feel extremely grateful and humbled that I was given the opportunity to enjoy so many types of food at some point in my life and it also made me feel extremely sad to be around food, and hear the word, “No.”  And although I’m sure they’ll be days when the overwhelming tugging urge to eat will override rational thinking, and I’ll have to accept the consequences…I am happy that with every passing year, it seems to get a little bit easier to choose my health over my memories of food and to understand and appreciate the importance of the word “No.”  Now back to Fruit Slice, yo.

Got something to say? :)

