Gee, Only 48 Pre-Sharpened #2 Pencils, That’s All?

When I was in school, I had like…five #2 pencils…for the WHOLE year! And one big ole’ fat pink eraser.  That was it.  My children, between the two of them, need to have about 80 pencils…already sharpened, of course. I love our school, I really do, it’s a great institute for learning. But, Damn that’s a lot of pencils! Today, we did the last of our school shopping and their supply lists looked more like a business office supply list minus some staples and coffee filters.  Hmm, I wonder what they’re going to do with the ten packs of Post-It notes?  Boy, times have really changed. When I was a teacher, the kids could get away with just having the basic necessary items.  One box of crayons.  One pair of scissors.  Two folders.  Now, glue sticks were a whole different story.  I always had to ask for extras because there was always that one kid that would eat theirs and then deny it…even though their lips would be covered in glue residue. Gross, but maybe glue tastes good, I mean Cherry Chapstick does and that’s kinda the same thing. Anyway…I’m just grateful that I don’t have three kids, because I can’t find the electric pencil sharpener…which means I’ll be sharpening those puppies manually.  Gee, I hope I don’t get a mean case of Carpal Tunnel.

2 thoughts on “Gee, Only 48 Pre-Sharpened #2 Pencils, That’s All?

Got something to say? :)

